This song begins with a twangy guitar and an uplifting string section that was used in countless Ad Council PSAs. I was surprised to learn Justin Timberlake was on it. I love him and I think he makes this song great!

Anyway, it would be remiss of me not to mention the titular Black EyedPeas. They actually have some very thoughtful and well-written verses that make a lot of valid points about the world we live in.

“If you only have love for you own race, then you only leave space to discriminate, and to discriminate only generates hate. …Madness is what you demonstrate, and that’s exactly how anger works and operates.” Mister William.I.Am certainly seems aware of the cycle of hate and persecution that seems to overwhelm some people. It certainly does make one wonder where the love is.

This song covers a lot of topics ranging from the War on Terror, CIA atrocities, the KKK, and even how the media uses fear mongering to cash in on ratings while driving rifts and schisms between people that causes more hatred amongst us. And while it claims that love will somehow magically solve all of these problems, it feels a bit naïve to think that everyone will one day practice love and tolerance. In the meantime, instead of asking where the love is, maybe we should be the ones applying it, and spreading it with charitable causes and think tanks made to solve the world’s problems. Even simply educating people goes a long way, as ignorance is the root cause of most discrimination. Other than that, I continue to really love this catchy song. I will admit however learning that Justin Timberlake is the chorus voice made me like it a lot more now. I have a very strong bias towards him yes.

